Butterfly Mob

4 Aug

I just can’t help myself sometimes.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been working a lot, or maybe it’s the beautiful weather we’ve been having lately…  I’ve had a lingering urge to bring some of my print-making out into the street.  Witness the Butterfly Mob!

A friend (the marvelous Michelle, above) and I had a great time this weekend covering a park bench in Brooklyn with over 100 butterflies I had screen-printed. Here’s one of my favorites:

Even though I live in New York City, I’ve got a country heart.  Sometimes it can feel a little stifled by the heat and noise of the city in the summer-time.  Making butterflies with wings of lace, zebra patterns, and watercolor-washed hues, I felt like I was planting a little reminder of nature back on the street.  I hope you enjoy them…

(More photos posted on The Print Yards flickr site here.)

5 Responses to “Butterfly Mob”

  1. Mom G August 4, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I totally love this. Like a nature gal Cristo. Can see a flock winding up my staircase. So fab. M

  2. The Print Yards August 4, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Thanks! Glad you like them. Euge thought of a great way to package them up. Some more mobs are on the way. If you have any patterns you’d like to see, let me know! I’m looking around for ideas and inspiration now-

  3. Janet August 4, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    A very cute idea and a way to bring art into the mainstream. Something that the bystanders can enjoy

  4. memo August 9, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    beautiful! did you leave the butterflies on the bench afterward? can we cover the city with all sorts of animals? thanks for kicking artistic ass…

  5. The Print Yards August 10, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    Thanks guys! I went back to check up on them a few days ago and they had “flown” away with some butterfly enthusiasts. Would love to do more. All sorts of animals sound good, are there any you have in mind?

Leave a Reply

