The Grand Plan: Part One

13 Sep

Man oh man, I thought 2008 was the year of change, but 2010 has been giving it a run for it’s money!  Babies, weddings, engagements, elopements, surprise birthdays… I want to pass out on the futon just thinking about it!  This year has been one of change for me as well.  I decided after much thought this year that it was time for me to shake my life up a little.

It started with a trip up the west coast that ended in Portland, Oregon.  I was looking for a break from the hustle and bustle of New York, just a nice, relaxing vacation that would help me unwind.  But something unexpected happened.  Can you fall in love with a city?  I still can’t really explain it, but something in me opened up in Portland.  Out came the need to create with my hands, to draw, to sew marshmallows on a dress and walk down the middle of the street, to take walks in the rain, bike wildly, explore and find a connection between myself and the people around me.

When I got back to Brooklyn I felt… a little lost.  I’m not unhappy with my life here, I love Brooklyn and all the close friends that I’ve made here.  But for the last few months, I haven’t been able to shake the feeling that I need something else in my life.  I haven’t been able to shake Portland.

You know that saying: when you’re searching for something in your life, oftentimes it finds you.  That phone call that you put out into the universe a few months or years ago is finally returned and perhaps it’s not what you expected.  But it makes sense!  In some weird way, your blind searching paid off.  I feel like that’s true in my case.

For the last few months, I’ve been sketching, dreaming and taking classes.  Lots and lots of classes.  Sewing, wood-working, textile making, screen-printing, ceramics, etc.  I felt like, “OK if I’m going to Portland, I have to create something.”  And create something that is useful and well-made.  I’ve been working my butt off trying to find something I can make… and I think I found it.

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

